Reviews Videos

Alchemist & Boldy James – Bo Jackson (Review)

★★★1/2: Very good; a few bland songs or minor flaws throughout.

Alchemist Boldy James Bo Jackson review:

Alchemist & Boldy James – “Bo Jackson”

Released: 13 August 2021

A very good project, but definitely gets tiring as a front-to-back listen, because Boldy James relies heavily on his familiar signature style & flow to skate over these Alchemist beats, which results in listener’s fatigue (a shorter track-list would have helped relieve this)

1. Double Hockey Sticks – 00:47

2. Turpentine– 5:30

3. Brickmile to Montana ft Benny the Butcher – 9:28

4. E.P.M.D – 12:27

5. Steel Wool – 18:33

6. Photographic Memories ft Earl Sweatshirt & Roc Marciano – 21:48

7. Speed Trap – 27:15

8. Diamond Dallas ft Stove God Cook$ –  30:40

9. Flight Risk –  33:26

10. Illegal Search & Seizure – 35:47

11. Fake Flowers ft Curren$y & Freddie Gibbs – 38:00

12. 3rd Person – 42:07

13. First 48 Freestyle – 45:17

14. Drug Zone – 48:27


A lot of dope songs on this project – and arguably the best produced album of 2021 so far – but lyrically and vocally leaves a lot to be desired due to Boldy James‘ redundant flow, delivery and subject matter. However, Alchemist‘s beats, feature choices, and track sequencing are enough to salvage this to still be a very good project. And although Boldy James appears to be a bit of a 1-dimensional rapper, he still has enough bars to craft an enjoyable listen.

★★★1/2: Very good; a few bland songs or minor flaws throughout.

You might also like:

Alchemist Boldy James Bo Jackson review

Rating Categories:
★★★★★: Best in show; pinnacle release from an all-time great artist.
★★★★1/2: Stellar example of genre; peak potential.
★★★★: Excellent; recommended to all fans of artist or genre.
★★★1/2: Very good; a few bland songs or minor flaws throughout.
★★★: Good; fans of the artist will find value here.
★★1/2: Average; does little to establish the artist or maintain quality.
★★: Unexceptional; a few highlights but otherwise bland.
★1/2: Weak; unrecommended for anyone but major fans of the style and/or artist.
★: Seriously flawed; very poor work but relatively listenable.
1/2: Terrible; a true embarrassment and akin to audio masochism.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: